Helping Others

In June of this year, I was fortunate enough to be placed in another office within our company.  Sure, it was a much busier office – coming from the Administration office in a city with a population of 1, 875 (where we could count the number of daily customers on one hand) to a city with a total population of 99,000.  Even just being in the office 3 days a week; it was amazing how many people came through the door every single day.

Individuals from all walks of life – all different – all the same – some young – some old – all trying to better themselves by finding and securing employment.  Myself, being employed by a Workforce Development Agency, our goal is to assist all job seekers locate employment.  Not always an easy task, but our end result for everyone is the same – employment.  Of course, we do not find them actual placements, we give them the tools they need to be successful in their job search efforts.  We also provide them with job leads to various openings in the area.  Which I’m sure you can imagine is quite a few in a city of 99,000.

At first, it really surprised me how many of these job seekers are pleasant, polite, and respectful when they are in the office.  With the amount of traffic flow, you would think every now and then someone would be irate, angry, or down right indignant. I have not found that to be the case at all.

Customer Service begins the moment someone walks in the door and I truly believe, this sets the tone for the duration of the visit. Upon arrival, every single person is greeted with a smile and asked about their day.  Plus, all repeat customers are greeted by name.  This places everyone at ease and makes them feel welcomed.

We may not always have the answers that they are searching for – but, I will always try and get them to the correct person who does hold the answers.  Whether that means sending them to another office, or finding a phone number or website, or calling another individual directly, they all have another avenue to pursue upon leaving.

This morning my boss walked in the door as I was trying to assist a customer find the answers he was seeking.  (Even though the answer he needed was not something that I could give him.)  When the customer left – I was told by my boss, “If anyone comes in asking that same question – there is nothing we can do for them. We did our part previously and we’re done.  Send them on their way. End of story.”

Wrong!!  This is not the end of the story…………..

I don’t believe that, not for a second – and the day when I stop caring about helping others – will be the day I retire and become a true hermit.  The boss can tell me whatever he thinks, but the truth is, I will continue to assist every single customer in the way that I feel is best.

I refuse to change my level of Customer Service for ANYONE and I will NOT leave a customer with unanswered questions/requests.

(I know you are probably thinking, you can’t, and shouldn’t, go against the boss.  Well, I do, when I strongly believe he is wrong.  I stand up for what I believe in, even if that means going up against the one person who can change my own employment status.)

As long as every single one of my customers feel as though they are headed in the right direction and they leave me smiling – that to me is truly Eminent Customer Service.

Share Your Experiences With Me!

