How to Maintain A Positive Attitude in a Stressful Work Environment

By: Cindy Thornthwaite

There is no such thing as a perfect job.  Or if there is – I haven’t found mine quite yet.  If I could work solely with customers and only with co-workers who were as dedicated to Customer Service as myself, that would be my perfect job.  It seems that the stress I encounter on a daily basis is from all from my co-workers and not my customers.

I find myself being able to assist even the most difficult customer with a smile and a genuine care for their satisfaction.  I cannot find myself working with any co-workers who have little compassion or concern for the customer.  It creates such an amazing amount of stress in my life that I find myself not being to function.

This is where you have to decide, “Do I swim with the rest of the fish and sink to their level or do I rise above and remain true to myself?”

You could lower your expectations and just give in to sub-par Customer Service like everyone around you or you can continue to do what you know is right.

This is not always easy, some days you feel like you’re just dragging dead weight behind you – all day – every day.  Trust me I know.  I’ve been there myself several times.  When you work for a company for a long time, you can get very complacent with your surroundings and you start to relax.  Too much as a matter of fact.  When you feel like your office is your home and you treat it as such, you are way too relaxed in your environment.  Now, don’t get me wrong; it’s nice to be in an environment where you can feel so relaxed it makes for a very pleasant work day.  But, then again, we are not talking about you any longer, are we?  We are talking about your customers and what they expect when they walk through your door.

It’s not about you.  Believe, it or not, it’s about your customers wants and needs. That is the attitude that you need to bring into your work place every single day.  Not the mind set of your comforts.  I have seen unbelievable examples of work place behaviors in my travels.

When I start to feel like I am sinking to their levels, this is what I do to remind myself what and WHO is important.

  1. Breathe deeply. This helps to clear the brain and the negative thoughts.
  2. Look (and I mean really look) at each and every customer that walks through the door.
  3. Put yourself in your customer’s shoes. What would you demand when you walked in?
  4. Remind yourself that you are better! Not just today, but every day!
  5. Listen (and I mean really listen) to your customers when they speak.
  6. Thoroughly understand what your customer needs and wants from you.
  7. Give your customer your undivided attention!
  8. Make sure your customer is 100% satisfied when they leave.
  9. Walk away from the situation if need be. Sometimes, just getting away can clear your mind. Even if it’s only 5 minutes!
  10. REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU STAND FOR!  NO ONE CAN TAKE THAT AWAY FROM YOU.  ONLY YOU CAN LET IT GO!

As the saying goes, “NEVER GIVE UP – NEVER SURRENDER!”

One thought on “How to Maintain A Positive Attitude in a Stressful Work Environment

  1. I agree with everything you’ve said. It canbe very hard to stay ositive when your co-workers don’t care or are lazy. As long as we put the customer’s needs and happiness first we can’t go wrong, if only all customer service workers would see it this way.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Experiences With Me!

